Revised travel ban targets same countries

US Customs and Border Protection agents check vehicles entering the United States at the San Ysidro Port of Entry in San Ysidro California

The replacement ban on travellers from seven majority Muslim countries is expected to contain changes addressing particular elements judges found unconstitutional in the previous version.

US President Donald Trump's new executive order banning entry of immigrants to the United States will not include people who are green card residency holders, irrespective of their nationality and religion, say reports.

The original order rolled out quickly and imposed a controversial blanket travel ban to last 90 days that targeted citizens of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

The new draft also contains an exemption for existing green card holders and dual US citizens from the seven countries, one of the officials said, an explicit difference from the original order signed last month. The new draft also no longer directs authorities to single out - and reject - Syrian refugees when processing new visa applications. Its implementation was criticized as messy and chaotic as hundreds of individuals from the specified countries were detained, questioned, and deported from US airports.

Mr Trump's original executive order triggered chaos at airports around the world, as travelers were detained when the order rapidly went into effect.In its original form, the order temporarily suspended all travel to the United States for citizens of those seven Muslim-majority countries for 90 days.

Trump's first order attracted more than 20 lawsuits, with petitioners arguing that the order violated individual rights. The Trump administration has said that people from these nations pose a superlative national security threat, a claim that remains unsubstantiated.

Despite the legal frustrations, Trump looks set to try again.