Kenyans Kirui, Kiplagat win 121st Boston Marathon

38-year old Edna Kiplagat of Kenya, who set the women's Boilermaker course record in 2010, was the victor in the Women's Dvision at the 2017 Boston Marathon today.

Kirui waved and smiled as he took the tape in a time of 2hr 9min 37sec, with Rupp finishing in second.

Already a silver medalist and US record-holder in the 10,000 meters, he ran the fastest marathon time ever for an American in the Summer Games: 2 hours, 10 minutes, 5 seconds.

Among the notables in this year's field is Kathrine Switzer, who will have a much easier time of it than she did 50 years ago when she was the first woman to officially compete in the race. Times, luckily, have changed and women make up a large percentage of marathon runners. Japan's Suguru Osako finished third among the men. 2014 champion Buzunesh Deba was also about 2 minutes behind the leaders.

Keflezighi, who turns 42 on May 5, is set to retire after this year's NY marathon, but did not rule out a future Boston run as an amateur.

A tailwind of 13 miles per hour gave the runners a push at the start on Monday.

"I would love to come back here, this is a special place", he said. But Boston's race organizers still rejected her registration - telling her that women were not physiologically capable of running marathon distances.

Those times are now official in the wheelchair races.

Marcel Hug won Boston for the third time, outpushing 10-time champion Ernst Van Dyk down Boylston Street and finishing in 1:18:04 to beat the course record and world best by 21 seconds.

The winners' times on the point-to-point Boston course are considered a world best and not a world record because of the possibility of a supportive tailwind like the one on Monday.

Plans are in the works for memorials to mark the sites where two bombs exploded during the 2013 Boston Marathon.

The 121st Boston Marathon is on its way from Hopkinton to Boston.

Keflezighi, 41, finished 13th this year in what he said will be his last competitive run in Boston.

"I had the honor and privilege to win for the people, with the victims' names on my bib", Keflezighi said, referencing the names of Martin Richard, Krystle Campbell, Lu Lingz, and Sean Collier, which were written in marker in the corners of his racing bib during the winning run.