Tearful Thompson loses major play-off after four-shot penalty

Lexi Thompson incurs preposterously stupid 4-stroke penalty at the ANA Inspiration

Prior to the 18th hole, the gallery - now fully aware of the ramshackle circumstances surrounding Thompson's penalties - began chanting her name.

She eventually forced a playoff, but lost to Korean So Yeon Ryu.

After receiving the email, LPGA Tour rules official and annoying brat who reminds the teacher that she forgot to assign homework Sue Witters leveled the penalty, one day later.

The freakish infraction, brought to the attention of LPGA officials in an email by a television viewer, happened on the 17th hole Saturday when Thompson replaced her ball an inch away from its original position on a 1-foot putt. I did not mean that. "I didn't realize I did that".

"It's great to have the fan base I do". Thompson said after being informed by a rules official, before making birdies on three of the last six holes to force the play-off. Her five-under-par third-round 67 was changed to a 71.

Ryu would take the title with a birdie on the first sudden-death playoff hole, her fourth career LPGA title and her second major championship victory.

"I just can not believe the situation", Ryu said.

22-year-old Lexi Thompson thought she had won top prize at the ANA Inspiration, only to find one eagle-eyed viewer had e-mailed in over a misplaced marker...

"I wasn't expecting what happened today, but it is what it is and I'll learn from it". It's a very unfortunate situation. "I played under a little pressure as it's the first Major of the year", said Ariya who would remain at No 2. But she still made the traditional leap into Poppie's Pond to celebrate the victory.

She steeled herself in superb fashion, though, and, after fighting back with an immediate birdie at the 13th, had an eagle putt on the last hole to claim what would have been an incredible win.

Q. Can you just sum up that for me, everything you just went through?

'She incurred an additional two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d for returning an incorrect scorecard in round three.

"Is this a joke?" Thompson asked. After being assured it wasn't, she responded: "This is ridiculous".

Somehow, Thompson managed to birdie the 13th hole after learning of the ruling.

Golf fans on the course and the internet ´╗┐erupted with outrage when the LPGA's decision became understood.

Several golfers watching the tournament weighed in on Twitter, including Tiger Woods.

"Let's go (at) Lexi, win this thing anyway".

The LPGA gave their statement via social media, but once again the rules of golf dampened the final round at a major. As a result, the tournament levied Thompson with a four-stroke penalty on Sunday for a rule that was broken the day before.