Presidential Poll in Tripura; Speaker casts vote at West Bengal Assembly

98-99 voter turnout recorded in presidential elections

In the Madhya Pradesh legislative assembly 228 legislators cast their votes.

The MPs who did not cast their vote were Trinamool Congress MP Tapas Pal, BJD's Rama Chandra Hansdah and Anbumani Ramadoss of PMK. Then the special pens with violet ink will be given to the elector for marking the ballots, which would be in two colours - green for MPs and pink for MLAs. Ram Nath Kovind, the Governor of Bihar and Meira Kumar, the former Speaker of Lok Sabha were announced as candidates of NDA and Opposition respectively. The counting of votes will take place in Parliament on July 20.

"Before entering the voting chamber, a polling staff will collect personal pens from the voters and hand over the special pen to mark their vote on the ballot paper", an EC spokesperson said.

In a statement the Commission said it had permitted five Members of Legislative Assemblies to exercise their vote in Parliament and four MLAs to vote in other State Legislative Assemblies.

Mishra said that except for Andhra Pradesh, J&K, Manipur and Tripura, data received from all other states indicated voting was "close to 100%".

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, who are yet to resign from the Lok Sabha, will vote at the respective Assemblies.

The total strength of the electoral college is 10,98,903 votes, with each Parliamentarian carrying a vote value of 708.

All state/ union territories assemblies combined have 51,383 (9 percent) votes, out of which 363 women members account for 5,43,480 votes. 771 of the 776 MPs were eligible to vote for the presidential elections, with 2 vacancies each in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. BJP has 161 MLAs, Congress 24, four of NPP, two each of Zamindara Party and BSP, and seven independent.

Both Houses of Parliament were adjourned for the day after obituary references.

Before casting his vote, the Prime Minister addressed the media, saying the Monsoon Session, which began on Monday, brings "hope". Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Vice President Rahul Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh and BSP chief Mayawati were among those prominent leaders who cast their votes at Parliament house.

" The President does not belong to any political party".