President Buhari to broadcast to nation on Monday

President Buhari Approves 1,258 Board Members See Complete List

Three out of the board members and chairmen newly appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari are deceased, an investigation has revealed.

In the statement by presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, the President commiserated with "the family and friends of the late senator, whose championing of social justice in the Niger Delta, during his long history of service to the people, endeared him to many".

Earlier report on Saturday had claimed that three dead persons were included in the list.

He said the president requested for the submission of 50 names each by the state chapters of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in 2015, which were later compiled by the national secretariat of the party.

He said: "This list is a historical list".

He said that between the compilation of the list and its announcement, the APC could not stop people from dying but assured that all dead appointees on the list will be replaced. It dates back to 2015. A statement by the Publicity Secretary of the party in the state, Taiwo Olatunbosun, also praised the President for considering members worthy of these appointments.

"The report was disputed by state governors who said they were not carried along or the list was not representative enough".

While calling on the new appointees to do Ekiti State proud in their various assignments, the party urged the President to consider Ekiti State for more appointments and also locate more employment-generating projects in the state.

APC thanked Nigerians for supporting President Buhari's administration and asked them to be hopeful of brighter days ahead.

"The president's trips for medical attention slowed down completion of the process", he said, until when Mr Buhari chose to revisit the matter recently.

The organisations whose boards were constituted were National Boundary Commission (NBC), National Institute for Policy and Strategy Studies (NIPSS), Border Communities Development Agency (BCDA), National Planning Commission (NPC), National Commission for Refugees, Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC), Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission (NCPC), National Lottery Trust Fund (NLTF), National Lottery Regulatory Commission (NLRC), National Atomic Energy Commission (NAEC) and National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI).

The former SGF Babachir Lawal on October 26 that year inaugurated an eight-man committee headed by himself on the reconstitution of the boards.